Weather by Alexandra Plancarte

Brian Ramey, freshman, playing football in the commons during a thunderstorm in the commons on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Brian Ramey, freshman, playing football in the commons during a thunderstorm in the commons on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)

(In the above photograph you can see the hail on the grass)

On Thursday, Oct. 2 I received an assignment to shoot another weather photograph. Last time I took a weather photo it did not rain that much. I waited for a while in my dorm room with my window open watching the storm brewing in. When I immediately saw a drop of rain fall, I quickly grab the camera and ran down the stairs. As I was going down the stairs the light were flickering. Little did I know that once I opened the door it would have lead me into an insane storm.

I opened the door and my jaw drop! I have never been in this type of weather. All I had was my camera and a notepad with a pen. I did not bring a jacket but I did have an umbrella, which was no use. I tried my hardest to get pictures of this storm but my camera was not able to focus and neither was I. As I was taking pictures my room comes running and asks “what on earth am I doing outside!?” I told her I was doing another assignment. She thought I was insane for being outside. She demanded I go inside the dorm building. I finally caved and went in because I was not getting the results I wanted anyways.

I tried taking pictures from my window with it open but there was not much activity happening. After the wind died down I noticed some guys playing around with a football and sliding in the grass. I went down again, without a jacket or an umbrella. As I was shooting pictures the rain came to a drizzle. I was able to focus my camera better to snap some photos.

The TCU students were having fun slipping n’ sliding in the commons. I changed the shutter speed to multiple speed so that I could capture every moment of the students sliding. My ISO was also at 100 since the sun was finally coming back.

In one of the photos there is a female student sliding with the male students. After the photo I asked her if she knew these people. She said never met them and just joined in because it seemed fun. After taking the photos I thought about joining in too but I decided not to. After I got back to my dorm I was soaking wet from head to toe. I thought I was going to catch a cold but luckily I did not.

Overall this assignment was the best yet. I got to be in the “eye of the storm,” I got hit by hail, almost fell in a huge puddle, broke my umbrella and wet my notebook. Quite the experience I might say! 🙂

Sophomores Brett Tenhoff (left) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Tuesday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomores Brett Tenhoff (left) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)

Additional photographs:

Sophomores Jake Siegert (left), Andy Mott (middle) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the grass after the heavy rain fall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomores Jake Siegert (left), Andy Mott (middle) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the grass after the heavy rain fall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomore Jake Siegert sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomore Jake Siegert sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomore Jake Siegert sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomore Jake Siegert sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomores Brett Tenhoff (left) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomores Brett Tenhoff (left) and Patrick Colton (right) sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Students Patrick Colton (left), sophomore, Jasmine Nunley (middle), freshman, Jake Siegert (right), sophomore, sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Students Patrick Colton (left), sophomore, Jasmine Nunley (middle), freshman, Jake Siegert (right), sophomore, sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Students Patrick Colton (left), sophomore, Jasmine Nunley (middle), freshman, Jake Siegert (right), sophomore, sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Students Patrick Colton (left), sophomore, Jasmine Nunley (middle), freshman, Jake Siegert (right), sophomore, sliding in the commons after heavy rainfall on Thursday, Oct. 2. (TCU 360/Alexandra Plancarte)
Leave a Reply

