Environmental Portrait by Alexandra Plancarte

Costume Shop Supervisor, Susan Austin, sewing tutus at Erma Lowe Hall on a rainy day on Thursday, Sept. 11. (Credit: Alexandra Plancarte)
Costume Shop Supervisor, Susan Austin, sewing tutus at Erma Lowe Hall on a rainy day on Thursday, Sept. 11. (Credit: Alexandra Plancarte)

This week I received an assignment to take an environmental portrait. The assignment is about taking a photograph of someone in his or her environment. I decide I wanted to get a picture of a theatre major on stage or a dancer in the studio.

On a rainy Thursday, I went out and visited Ed Landreth Hall and walked around looking for photo opportunities. I found nothing in particular to shoot. I head to Erma Lowe Hall and went in the dance studios only to find they were empty. I knew there was a costume studio in the basement, so I headed over there hoping I would see someone working on something.  I stumbled upon this woman, Susan Austin, Costume Ship Supervisor, working on tutus for the upcoming show. I introduced myself and asked if I could get a photo of her. She gladly accepted with a kind smile.

For this assignment I used a Nikon D90. I never shot with a Nikon before, I am used to the Canon EOS 7D. I ended up with two great shots that I could not choose which photo to use. I went with this photo because of the angle of the sewing machine. I know I wanted to get Susan on her sewing machine because that is her environment. The other photo I was planning on using had Susan on her sewing machine but the angle was through a rack that had finished tutus.

This was a fun assignment to do. I was able to get to know Susan a little more with the small talk we had. I want to thank Susan again for being my model.

Here is the other photo I was going to use:

DSC_0070
Costume Shop Supervisor, Susan Austin, sewing tutus at Erma Lowe Hall on a rainy day on Thursday, Sept. 11. (Credit: Alexandra Plancarte)
Leave a Reply

