Rule of thirds by Alexandra Plancarte

Sophomore marketing major Brittany Hudson in Market Square waiting for her friends to come and eat, Sunday Sept. 7. (Credit: Alexandra Plancarte)
Sophomore marketing major Brittany Hudson in Market Square waiting for her friends to come and eat, Sunday Sept. 7. (Credit: Alexandra Plancarte)

For this photography assignment I used my roommate Brittany Hudson. She was very elated to be my model. I told her I wanted to do some photos outside then go inside to Market Square. The first photo session was at Frog Fountain. Some of the photos came out nice but not what I was going for. I had Brittany sit in commons opposite of the King Tower to make it balanced in the frame. During the shoot, I was having difficulty finding the right setting on the camera. Every time I would take a photo you could not see the clouds or see Brittany.

I tried two more different locations outside before moving inside. I took a photo of Brittany reading a book in front of Wright Hall. The photo had great balance and she was in the prefect rule of  thirds. That photo was my second choice before I chose the one above. The photo that I did choose was when I moved Brittany inside Market Square. I was intrigued by the way there was a balance being created in this space. I told Brittany where to sit and just eat.

As she was eating I took the photo. The reason why I went with this photo is because Brittany was the focal point and the camera focused greatly on her than everything around her. I like how this photo captured the Sunday life at Market Square. I was worried that Market Square would be busy with people and I would not have been able to get this beautiful shot of Brittany.

At the end of the photo-shoot Brittany told me I had completed one of her goals. That goal was to be a model for a photo-shoot. I am honored to have fulfilled a goal for someone.

Leave a Reply

